Boy and doll original thinkers…

Standard

The doll walked in the kitchen yesterday following school and said, “Mom I had a mishap with my lunch box again. Evidently I didn’t close my thermos tight enough and left over chicken broth spilled all over the inside of my lunch box. So Mrs. X helped me clean it up.” “Oh well that’s nice.” I returned. “Well she had me go down to Mrs. Y’s room to get a large plastic bag to put it in, but when I returned, Mrs. X was no longer there. Then Mrs. Z spotted me and told me to go to my next class. But I told her I was waiting for Mrs. X to return and she scolded me and told me she didn’t care what I was doing, I should be going to my next class”. I became dizzy by her extended explanation and wondered where this conversation was headed, when the doll quickly finished. “She was so mean to me I almost started crying. Mom I do not like Mrs. Z. Smirking back at her I replied, “Cheer up, you only have her for two and a half more years with her. unless she retires or something radical happens. You’re going to have to find a way to deal with her.” I said. Not allowing for my reply to sink in, the doll quickly retorted “You know what I think? If she was a character in the Percy Jackson Greek mythology series, she’d be the wicked monster that everyone is after!!”

Trying not to laugh, I made a mental note to remind myself later to thank Mrs Z for that exchange. In the grand scheme of things, some of the best teachers have been viewed as monsters from time to time.

“Now I’m floating like a butterfly
Stinging like a bee I earned my stripes
I went from zero, to my own hero
I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
‘Cause I am a champion”

While pulling up to the boy’s school this morning, Katy Perry’s song “Roar” came on the radio. Only hearing a small portion before exiting the car, the boy asked… “What is this? Did she like take the titles of popular songs, slap them together to create this song? How unoriginal”. Smiling back at him I said, “Be nice…” Before saying our customary morning goodbyes. As I drove off, I continued to listen to the catchy song and honestly came to the same conclusion as the boy…good beat but lyrically uninspiring.

Leave a Reply

