its always the quiet ones….

Standard

A typical doll voice heard at home: BOY KNOCK IT OFF!! STAY OUT OF MY ROOM!!! I HATE YOU!! MOM!!!! REALLY MOM??  I HEARD YOU ALREADY!!! JEEZE MOM CATCH A COLD OR SOMETHING!!!

A typical doll voice when not at home: I’m sorry did you say something, I can’t hear you?

******

“Mom I have your personality and daddy’s shyness” the doll offered as her excuse why the librarian couldn’t hear her.  Mary Alice and I accompanied her to the library so she could retrieve the next book in the Percy Jackson series. “Did you bring your library card with you?” I asked her. “No”.  the doll replied. “Go and ask the clerk to look up your card number” I said pushing her toward the check out counter. “You come with me..” the doll instructed. Shaking my head no I said, “You’re old enough to start asking for help on your own.” Giving me a mean look, she approached the counter while Mary Alice and I stood a few feet away.

“Do you have your library card?” the librarian asked the doll. She turned around, looked back at me and Mary Alice and motioned for us to approach the counter.  I stood my ground and shook my head “No”.  Unhappy, the doll turned back around and quietly said “no”. “Okay, so what’s your last name….” The librarian asked. The doll, who was fortunate to be wearing her Volleyball team sweatshirt, turned around and pointed at the spelling for the woman. “Okay and your first name?” She answered so quietly, the librarian asked her again. “Okay and when is your birth date?” In the meekest voice ever I heard her say “3-13…” The librarian gave her an odd look and then asked, “Are you sure?” The doll then turned toward me and gave me an odd look, before turning back around and said the correct month. After a few minutes, the librarian handed the doll her book and we were on our way.

“Mom its not my fault I’m shy.” The doll explained.  “Being shy is one thing…being difficult to hear is another. These people are helping you…but unless you raise your voice, no one will and you’ll always be lost. Don’t be afraid to speak out loud–especially since you have no trouble being loud at home. “Well that’s because the boy is loud. If I want to be heard, I have to talk over him…” she reasoned. “Well then it’s time to pretend the boy is always with you from now on…” I suggested.

Scrunching her nose she looked at me like I was insane and then said, “As if…”

“Hello, Hello…are you speaking?  I can’t hear you…”

“Not funny mom!”

Leave a Reply

