the day after…

Standard

My family can seem a bit excessive at times, primarily because of our large size. Somewhere around 9:30 pm Thanksgiving night, my sister-in-law pulled out a third turkey which had been cooking in a back room all day. Did we need that third turkey? Heavens no. But that did not stop us from eating the darn thing.

This morning when my alarm went off, I was not getting up to greet large crowds and super saver deals. Instead I was back to my routine, back to work, back on schedule. Mrs. K greeted me with a happy smile; happy that someone was stopping by to visit. “How are you today?” I asked, entering her home. “As well as can be expected” came her giddy reply.

The doll spent the night with her cousins and the boy left early with his dad. When I arrived home last night, the house was quiet. A time for quiet reflection…on second thought, time for bed.

Yes, another Thanksgiving holiday has come and gone. Five pounds of food added, twenty pounds more to work off. But I would be remiss if I didn’t acknowledge that while we all came together to eat a big meal and celebrate family together, being thankful is not a one day only event. Mrs. K asks me all the time, “What would I do without you?” when we’re shopping and I return with a cute reply, “You’d spend more money on things you don’t need”. She agrees and we continue on…

Being grateful is a 24/7 365 days a year event. Even on the hardest days. Especially on the hardest days. But I’m not telling you anything you don’t already know. So let me say this, on the day after the national holiday of being thankful:

Thank you, my readers, my friends, family and my muses. You certainly have contributed in making my life more interesting–which in turn, will make my children’s future all the more entertaining when they read these back and either think “This never happened or What the F* was she thinking writing about this? Whichever the case, I’m sure that alone will make my old age all the more enjoyable.

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

