Christmas movies….

Standard

(Q) Name most beloved Christmas movies….

(A) Holiday Inn, White Christmas, The Bells of St. Mary, Going My Way, It’s a Wonderful Life, A Christmas Story, Polar Express, Miracle on 34th Street, Elf, The Santa Clause, March of the Penguins.

March of the Penguins? That’s not right-this film has zero to do with Christmas-I mean besides the giving birth part. March of the Penguins, was released in June 2005 and set at the South Pole–not the North one and has no business being considered a Christmas movie. Why would anyone in their right mind believe this film belongs there?

Because, March of the Penguins is about love…

Love, shmuv…what do Penguins know or understand about love. Love doesn’t even enter the frame. March of the Penguins is about a species trying to survive…nothing more.

But  for me…March of the Penguins is about LOVE… the love I shared with my mom.

On Dec. 17, 2005 we were informed, following a radio spectrum test at the hospital; that mom was riddled with inoperable cancerous tumors. The radiologist informed us he would not be giving her the news…he wanted to defer to her doctor. My sister Carol and I decided to rent some movies as a distraction from their worries; She would not see her doctor for a few days. That night I told my husband, “I need to go down and watch a few movies with them…I NEED to be there” and he understood.

“I think you’ll like this movie” I said as I placed March of the Penguins in the DVD player. “…it’s about Penguins and luuuvvveee.” I said with a laugh. I figured my dad would enjoy the documentary-having never missed a nature showing of Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom or the Undersea World of Jacques Cousteau when I was a kid.  For mom, I thought she might find some enjoyment from the film and at the very least take her mind off the pain she was in. I pressed play and then watched my parents watch the movie.

I noticed the subtle changes their faces made while viewing the film. I made mental notes trying to remember what mom looked like during specific scenes and did my best not to cry or get choked up, when she did. Surprisingly, they both watched the movie all the way through-neither one falling asleep. I enjoyed seeing the tears in my mother’s eyes–not because of the pain she was in, but rather because the film evoked the emotions from her. When the movie ended she half smiled at me when I asked what she thought. “Did you like that movie?” “Surprisingly I did.” She replied, dabbing a tissue into the corner of her eyes, to catch her tears.

Looking over at my dad I said, “I think it’s time for you to go upstairs to bed…”Earlier in the day, we moved my mom’s bed into the family room.  Exhausted, he offered no resistance; kissed us both goodnight and then went upstairs. Left alone with her we talked. A mother’s love knows no bounds….

As evidenced in The March of the Penguins.

We are all on this planet with one true goal…to perpetuate our species. Lately though, we’ve not been doing a very good job of that. Instead we’ve found ways to denigrate and murder one another. We find fault in others actions, never our own. We don’t understand differences so instead of learning from them, we prefer to close our eyes and shut others out. In addition, we seem to be on the lookout for new ways to hurt and tear down instead of building up and loving one another.

Over 2000 years ago a child (Jesus) was born in Bethlehem to save the world–through LOVE; in accordance to my faith. That’s why I celebrate Christmas… LOVE. Rebirth with perhaps a better, new improved, more effective way to perpetuate our species.

So every year during the last two weeks of Christmas, I dig through all the old video games and movies we’ve collected through the years until I find March of the Penguins and then proceed to watch the film. Doing so draws me closer to my parents, to my faith and to the promise that LOVE will conquer all… one egg at a time.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

