priorities….

Standard

“Mom, if you have a problem with me, I’d prefer you talk about it to me, face to face rather than go behind my back…” The boy said sternly to me. “What are you talking about?” I asked confusedly. “I overheard you and dad talking upstairs…” He said and then once again reiterated his position, “If you have a problem with me, then tell me to my face. Don’t talk behind my back.” Ah….

“Well, first of all bay…since you are my son, guess what? I’ve earned the privilege to talk to whoever I want about you…especially your dad. Secondly, you want to know what we were talking about?” I asked. He nodded his head silently giving me a green light to continue. “Okay, I was complaining to your dad about your lame excuse Friday for, not taking a shower–you got up an hour before school and somehow didn’t have enough time. Considering I wake up 50 minutes before we have to leave, yet have plenty of time to shower, blow dry my hair and drive you to school in time, I might add. I believe your priorities are screwed up. That’s what your dad and I were discussing. Satisfied?”

He hardened his face toward me and said, “What I do in the morning is my business.” “Not if you fail to keep yourself clean…” I replied quickly. “Mom, it’s my business, not yours!!” He took a stand.”See bay that’s where we disagree. You are a representative of your dad and I. If you are gross, disgusting and smelly then what do you think others think about us? We have a reputation to uphold. Why do you think I harp on you about this all the time?” He grunted his reply and walked away. “Priorities bay!! Your job is to make your parents look good at all times! Get your priorities straight!” I shouted after him, before moving on.

 

****

Leave a Reply

