dreams…

Standard

Some of my girlfriends and I are going to see Brandi Carlile (band) perform at the end of May. When I texted asking if they’d be interested in going, some replied,  “Yes, but who is she?” “Don’t worry, I’ll make you a compilation CD,” I said. The other day, while I drove the boy to school, I put one of my newly created CD’s on the car stereo to make sure the music recorded without skips or faults.

The boy, hearing the song “Dreams” play in the background began his own interpretation of the song which made us both smile, eventually laughing at his analysis.

Dreams By Brandi Carlile                        as interpreted by the boy…

Dreams, I have dreams                               I have dreams too…
When I’m awake when I’m asleep            Take ADHD meds, it curbs those daydreams
And you, you are in my dreams                 I have lots of things in my dreams
You’re underneath my skin,                       Sounds like mom harping on my math grades
How am I so weak                                       I don’t like math

And now in my dreams,
I can feel the way, I can just come clean      Me too, I soo dislike math!
I keep it to myself, I know what it means    Except mom knows I hate math
I can’t have you, but I have dreams              Yet that doesn’t seem to matter

How long, can you hold your breath?           Well, how can that help?
Can you count to ten, can you let it pass?     We’re back to math?
Keep, can you keep it in?
Keep it behind latches, can you make it last?   Not with mom harping on me all the time.

The whole time he “played” along with the song, I giggled. Yes, I’ve been on his back over his math grades lately, primarily because he needs college recruiters to be interested in him. But, I can appreciate that sometimes “mom” can harp too much even though I will never admit this to his face.

“You know this song is pretty cathartic for me…” He said as I pulled in front of his school. “You know mom, not all of the music you listen to is lame,  but I never have to hear that song again.”He said as he began to exit the car. I couldn’t help but smirk, before adding, “Have a good day baby and I expect you to talk with your math teacher after school today.” Looking back at me he grunted a “Hmm” in my directions before closing the car door behind him.

Then I played along with the remainder of the song…

Mind, can you read my mind?                       This should be fairly easy for the boy
Has it come undone, am I showing signs?  Bay, do well in school and get a college scholarship

And now, in my dreams
I can feel the way, I can just come clean      I want you to go to college
I keep it to myself, I know what it means    And I’ll be vocal about my desires for you
I can’t have you, but I have dreams               I don’t want them to be dreams
I have dreams, I have, I have, I have dreams  I want them to become a reality. Work harder Bay!

Leave a Reply

