Summer lovin’

Standard

Driving the boy to school the other day, I asked him what his summer plans were. “I think I’d like to get a job”. He said matter-of-factly. “Oh really? Where?” I asked trying not to laugh at my lazy kid”. “Oh, I don’t know, the library or the post office”. “The post office?” I asked. “Yeah, that seems like a cool place to work…” He supposed. “Um–if you can get in. They don’t hire sixteen-year-old boys” I said. “Oh, well then the library it is…” He replied. 

Later when I informed my hubby of our conversation, he noted, “I’d rather he have three or four other jobs to get fired from first before he goes into the Library. At least by then hopefully, he’ll have a grasp on what he’s supposed to do to not get fired by then. “Now we just have to find him those three other jobs…” I said and we both groaned at he prospect.

*******

“What are your plans for the summer?” I asked the doll. “I think I want to make some money…” She said pressing me to enroll her in an online babysitting course sponsored by the Red Cross. “Sounds good to me..” I replied, remembering how much I babysat when I was thirteen.

On Sunday, she woke up early and after I paid for the program, talked with Red Cross IT and fought with internet explorer and Chrome’s pop up blocker for over an hour, began taking the test. Three hours into the four-hour course, our shockwave player shut down. When she reloaded the test, all her data was lost. Starting over, she made it all the way to the final ten questions before the shockwave player shut down again. I called Red Cross IT. They could not save the data and she had to begin again. “Mom, I’m going to take a break. Maybe the shockwave player needs a break too…” She said and I agreed.

When she came back to the test, the shockwave player crashed a third time. A call back to Red Cross IT and some odd suggestions later, we tried it one more time, closing out after each completed section, so her data would be stored. Fourth times the charm and today, she is Red Cross certified to babysit. The cool thing is…she already has two job possibilities.

*******

The other night, when the hubby and I could not agree on what movie to rent, I turned on Netflix and found Grease. Ordinarily I scan past, but because my hubby was being of so little help, I decided for the both of us. “What is this?” He asked. “Grease…” I said and began singing along to the opening song. “I have never ever seen this…” He said looking on skeptically. I continued to sing away…

We take the pressure and we throw away
Conventionality belongs to yesterday
There is a chance that we can make it so far
We start believing now that we can be who we are

Grease is the word…”

Needless to say, he made it through Summer Lovin’ before disappearing upstairs. After a few minutes I yelled up the steps “Babe, you’re going to miss Hopelessly Devoted to You if you don’t hurry back. “No, that’s okay…” He yelled back down. “I can pause the movie for you…” I offered. “No, that’s okay. I’ve seen enough”.

But I have to admit to his credit, he did come back and watch again from the hand jive dance off through to the end of the movie with me. “I can’t believe you paid to see this…” He said when the movie ended. “Are you kidding me? I saw it three times at the theater when it was released and Danny had the soundtrack. I know all of these songs by heart”. I relayed. “Sounds to me like I had the better childhood” He offered and received a swat on his arm from me, in return.

Leave a Reply

