A mature boy…?

Standard

Mom I’m very mature for my age…” The boy said. At that moment, I tried my very best not to laugh in reply but failed miserably.

Okay, I admit it, I bought the Kool-aid and signed up for Netflix streaming service. I wasn’t sure what I was getting into, but everyone around me swore this was the greatest thing since sliced bread, so I caved. We purposely didn’t tell the boy at first. Knowing we already lose him to the web, I didn’t want him lost on there too. But he’s a clever boy and eventually he found out.

I thought when I originally set up the “channel”, I limited what the kids could view. However, that hasn’t stopped them both from watching inappropriate programming, in my opinion. “Mom I want you to watch this new show Sense8 with me.” The boy said to me last Saturday. Considering that we’ve had a contemptuous relationship as of late, I decided to sit down and watch this show about telekinesis with him.

Okay now first, let me say I’m pretty liberal with my thinking. As most of you know, I believe in equal rights for all and I applaud television shows which include representations of all people living in this world–black, white, brown, yellow, straight, gay, bi, transgendered, etc. In fact, there are some programs my children and I watch together that show people aren’t that much different from one another, except for the labels we place upon them. However, I don’t think it’s appropriate to expose my kids gratuitous sex, regardless who the couple may be.

So as I sat watching Sense8 with my sixteen-year-old son, I was mortified, not when the “lesbian couple” was having sex, but rather when one of them pulled off the “strap-on” and laid it on the ground. Here the TV frame filled with a 5-10   second shot of the “strap-on” device so the audience could have a good look at what the device looked like. I presume they did so as to alert the audience that one of the characters was transgendered. Regardless, my son does not need to know about these things yet. There’s plenty of time in college/life to learn about them.

“What the hell?” I said while viewing the scene and the boy replied, “Oh I told you there was a lesbian sex scene in the first episode”. He replied matter of factly. “I don’t think you did, however, you should not be watching this”. I replied. “Mom, it’s only sex. Besides I’m not interested in that, I’m interested in the story…” He tried. “Nope, turn it off” I replied. “What? Mom, you haven’t seen any of this show and it’s pretty good. My favorite guy drives a Van Damm bus in Nigeria…” He explained trying to get me to relent. “I don’t care, you are not old enough to watch this program. Hell, I’m not even sure I am…” I said in reply.

“Mom I’m mature for my age…” He tried.”Whhaatt?” I said trying not to laugh. “Why are you laughing. I’mvery mature for my age”. He reinstated. “Um…” Shaking my head back and forth I replied, “Yeah, no. and we’re not watching this show either. “What? I read Game of Thrones. If it’s sex you’re worried about, why did you let me read that book?” He questioned. Because I didn’t know. Ignorance buddy. But I’m aware of this show and the answer is NO. When you’re 18 we can re-examine this further but until then…” I put my foot down. “You know, next year at the movies I’ll be allowed to see all movies, regardless of their ratings…” He said trying once more to get me to relent. Then next year we can discuss this. But in the meantime, this is my house and if you want us to continue having Netflix, I suggest you think about never watching this program again.”

As far as I know, he hasn’t watched another episode, but I’m sure he’ll find a way. So here’s my biggest gripe. The story, which, he was right, had an interesting spin to it.. But they ruined it for me with all the sex. I get we the audience is supposed to be more enlightened about stuff nowadays, but I’d like to be warned before I turn on a show about whether or not the program is appropriate for my children. Especially when it’s streaming into my living room at all hours of the day.

Leave a Reply

