Work is a *^&% letter word…

Standard

I remember being a teenager; someone who avoided work at all cost. I remember working in my Dad’s Podiatry office and wishing I was anywhere but there. I mean, really, I was missing All My Children, One Life to Live and General Hospital, not to mention running around with my friend Sally. But as is the case with all teenagers, if I wanted to have money, I had to work a job and even though I was not my Dad’s best employee, I still did what I was told to do…mostly.

Unfortunately, my children have inherited my want to be anywhere other than where they are at–when it pertains to work or jobs around the house–so much so that even I am amazed by their laziness.  “What’d you do today?” I asked my doll after I came home from work. “Read my book” She replied. “…and the chore list?” I asked and could literally hear crickets matching her silence in reply.

The boy has been participating in a work-study program at school. In the past, he would work one week during the summer and then for a quarter after school emptying trash containers throughout a designated area. This year I signed him up for two weeks in the summer (1 summer week is equivalent to an entire quarter). “Mom, I don’t mind doing the first week, but could you change it back so I can get my hours during the quarter?’ He asked me. “No, you’re doing both weeks”. I informed. “Why? Why are you trying to ruin my summer?” He yelled in return.

Smiling at him I asked, “What big plans do you have that would compete with this extra week?” He couldn’t answer because he had none. “No, get this work study over and done with, so you won’t have to worry about it during the school year”. I remarked. “I never thought of it much before” he replied and then added, “It’s just the summer is “my” time…where I can do whatever I want. I don’t mind giving up one week but two?”

Shake My Head

“Bay, there is no such thing as “Me” time,” I replied. “Mom, Aunt Ann has told me that you were lazy when you were my age…” He shot back. “Yes, I was…but have you ever heard the expression, “Do as I say, not as I do?” I asked and then laughed trying to clarify. “Bay when I was your age, I went to summer school in the morning, then took the bus to Wernert’s corner, before walking the mile to Grandpa’s office to work in the afternoon. I hated working for my dad and wasted plenty of time trying to figure out how to get out of working there–but I still showed up and did the job. I had plenty of time in the evening then to hang out with my friends–who coincidentally also had part-time jobs. You working at school for five hours a day isn’t the be all end all of summer”. “So, what you’re essentially saying is you won’t call and remove me from the second week…?” He asked. “Correct,” I replied.

“You always go out of your way to make my life miserable…” He added as he departed from the room. “Sigh, well that is a prerequisite of being a mom bay…a prerequisite!” I replied.

Leave a Reply

