safe and sound…

Standard

Well, my last day living free of husband and children has arrived. Every night, save last night; they’ve been gone, I’ve worked my butt off trying to show to them what I can accomplish when they aren’t busy running interference with me. Though, I have to admit, I’ve missed them and the stories they generate day in and day out. The doll sent me a time-lapse photo of the sunrise this morning, except the sun didn’t actually rise in the video. “My iPod died just as the sun came out…” She went on to explain. “Are you going to try again tomorrow?” I asked and she replied “Yes”. I’ve found it fascinating that she as gotten herself up every morning to watch the sunrise with her dad. “I’m getting myself ready for school…” She told me. “Hey, doll, whatever works…” I replIied but nonetheless am still surprised.

The boy I’ve been told has been taking long walks along the shoreline every day, talking to people he meets along the way, no doubt passing off bits of trivia as knowledge as he walks by.  “Hey, mom!” He said into the receiver. “Bay what have you been doing this whole trip?” I wondered. “I’ve been taking long walks, talking to people, enjoying mother nature”. He explained. True to my nature as his mother I quipped, “Hey maybe you can translate these into taking long walks with your dad and I in the evenings…?” “Oh, Mom!” He replied with a laugh before changing the subject.

Hubby called me this afternoon to ask, “What’s my email and password?” “Um, I don’t know, I have a hard enough time remembering my own stuff…” I said. “Well you set this up for me isn’t it this…” “Babe, that was two years ago. I have no clue…” I explained. “What good are you?” He asked. “I’m not, sorry….” I said in the saddest voice I could muster. After a short pause, he said, “You know I’m just kidding, right? I’ve missed you…” Laughing I replied, “Duhhh…feeling is mutual”. “Okay, well our flight is at noon…so we should be home around five or so…” He added. “Kay.” I replied and drew a heavy sigh which made him laugh. “This wasn’t a long enough break for you?” He asked. “No…I just have so much shit to do before you get home…I’m running out of time”. “Ah, well, do what you can we’ll worry about the rest later”.

Yes, my time to finish my projects is running low so off I go to remove furniture from the doll’s bedroom, so I can paint her walls the color of cement. Shaking my head, I can’t believe I didn’t notice that before I started. But I know, regardless the color of her or the boy’s bedroom, I won’t be happy with everything until they’re safe and sound at home, sleeping in them.

Leave a Reply

