it’s absurd…

Standard

A friend of mine is a Pure Romance consultant, which if you’re not familiar, sells adult sex toys, along with perfumes and other “bedroom” stuff. Usually, her parties are hosted by friends seeking a discount on product, based on a percentage of sales that evening and while she’s asked me several times to host a party for her, I never have. My primary reason is because no one in my family would be caught dead buying her product (in front of one another). I have however attended friend’s parties in the past.

After taking the month of July off, she rented a hall and threw herself a jumpstart party for sales in August. Her hook? She invited a local psychic medium to attend and do readings on her guests. Intrigued I asked her about the event.  “Marsh, you know how you keep small details to yourself about your family–I mean stuff no one should know?” I nodded. “Well, she knew mine…I don’t know how she knew, she just did”. Intrigued I decided to go and invited my sister Ann Marie to come along, not as a new customer for my friend, but rather because she has a stronger memory as well as being my father’s main caregiver. If my mom were to come through, more than likely she would come to Ann Mare more readily than me.

Having attended a “toy” party in the past, I had an idea what to expect, Ann Marie, however, walked in blind. We were seated with three other women at the VIP table, which simply meant we were guaranteed a chance to be read by the psychic. After a few introductions, the psychic came into the hall, introduced and described herself as an empath, clairvoyant psychic medium then did a few on the spot readings for people around the room, before departing and allowing the “party” to begin. Then my friend introduced one of the sponsors, but cautioned, “No judgments” ladies. Which, of course, instigated them.

“Hello, I’m Nancy from ‘Ecstatic’, NW Ohio’s premier swinger club!” Just then, Ann looked over at me and said, “I don’t want any of our loved ones to come through and see where we are”, which made me laugh. “You are a prude, Ann Marie,” I said and she agreed. Truth be told, we both are. Blame it on being raised by two very devout Catholics and my mother’s high moral code. Some things, like “swinging” are just not in our wheelhouses. Once Nancy finished talking about her club, the medium gave us a signal and the readings began.

Four of us who were led into a back room and seated at a round table while the psychic moved/shuffled back and forth in front of us. Finally, she spoke and said, “I have an uncle here. He’s identifying himself as an uncle and he has three people behind/with him. He comes across and very good natured but, somethings wrong with his foot. His foot. Oh now I’m getting a tingling up my legs to my knees” She stopped and lifted her leg to the chair demonstrating what was going on with her leg. “Oh, kind of nauseous too”. She added. “Does this belong to anyone here?” She asked and all four of us looked like deers in the headlights. “C’mon, this has to belong to someone here…” She reiterated. “Okay, well I see a cross on a chain. Very religious. A cross on a chain, very religious person.” The woman next to me said, “Does this sound like anyone you know?” I looked at her, and then to the psychic and said, ‘Yes, it sounds like it could be us”.

“Well, I get the feeling this is a woman whom I’m talking with now. Very religious, high moral code. What happened elsewhere didn’t matter, but while you lived in her house, you had to live under her code”. I looked over at Ann Marie as she wiped tears from her eyes. “Could be our mom” she admitted. “Well, I get the impression that she was a very well-liked, very much loved, very sweet person here on earth.” And this time we both nodded in agreement. The psychic danced around a few other things, some we agreed with, others we didn’t, but I enjoyed hoping that mom was there with us. “Do you have any questions for her?” She asked. Ann Marie immediately offered the worst question in the history of psychic medium questions (I can say this because I’m her sister), “Is she in any pain?” “What? she’s not in pain, she’s dead!” I wanted to shout but the psychic took my place, “No, she’s not in any pain, she’s dead.” before adding, “She’s got a good sense of humor….” and began to laugh. “She’s telling me, the only pain she’s in….is in your neck when you do something she doesn’t approve of…” I laughed and thought to myself, “This explains why my neck and right shoulder hurt so much lately.” Before I could ask another question, she turned her attention toward another person seated with us, and our “reading” came to a close.

Ann Marie and I returned to our VIP table kind of in a daze wondering if this medium was real or if we heard what we wanted to hear. After a little while, I informed my friend that we were leaving, forfeiting our chance to win tickets to the “swinger party”. “Thanks for putting this on…” I told her. “Did your mom come through?” She asked. “Maybe…hard to tell,” I replied, giving her a hug before leaving.

*****

So was my mom present? Some things sounded plausible. The foot thing…My mom’s youngest brother lost both big toes due to diabetes. The leg tingling, my grandfather lost both legs to his knees from diabetes. My mom also had polio in both legs when she was younger and my father was a podiatrist. Ann Marie, who works for a podiatrist is convinced my friend gave the psychic our names a head of time and she went onto our facebook page looking for clues. Who knows…

She said the woman was sorry she didn’t get to talk with everyone before she passed away, which isn’t totally true. After encouragement from me, she talked with my siblings and some inlaws, cousins, and her sisters, but she and I never reconnected to talk one more time–something I always wished we had.

She said there was some confusion when she died–and the description of who my mother was–very sweet, well-loved, high morals, etc could have been a good guess on her part, based on our conservative dress in contrast to the others in attendance.

Was my mother present? Who knows. Frankly the important takeaway from this whole experience wasn’t whether or not she was there, but rather how enjoyable those moments felt when we thought maybe, perhaps, she was present with us.

However, if I ever choose to see a psychic again, I think for the sake of my sore neck, it shouldn’t be at a sex toy party.

Leave a Reply

