brave new-old world…

Standard

I used to wonder if the boy had been born blind if his eating habits would be better. Regardless of taste, if the boy perceives food to taste one way, simply using sight alone, he decides he won’t eat said food. The only exception to this rule are cakes and cookies, because seriously, how wrong can you go with them?

Welcome to the brave new-old world we’ve been forced to enter.

Have you ever felt like you were beating your head against a wall with no end in sight? If the answer is yes, then you understand what life is like trying to get my son to change his eating habits. “Bay, you’re not supposed to eat jelly!” I shouted at him Tuesday when I entered the kitchen and found him fitting two pieces of whole grain bread together one with peanut butter, the other with the offending jelly spread evenly across. “Well, it’s too late now…” He replied. “Hey, you asked the doctor point blank and she said NO!” “So you’re saying I can’t eat this? It’s already made. You want me to waste this sandwich?” “BAY!! YOU ARE COMMITTING SUICIDE!! SHE SAID NO MORE, YET HERE YOU ARE, THROWING YOUR LIFE AWAY!” I shouted. “Mom stop being so dramatic. I promise after this one sandwich I won’t make another one. Grabbing the jar to ensure he couldn’t, I glanced down at the ingredients and I couldn’t believe my eyes, “HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP!!” I said loudly in his direction. Shaking my head, I opened the trash lid and dropped the jar inside.

Last night shortly after dinner I left, simply to keep myself from making matters worse with him. For dinner, we had scrambled eggs with peppers, onions and spinach. I knew he would fight me about the spinach, but wasn’t prepared for him to engage his gag reflex on everything else. For the next hour and a half, I wandered up and down aisles at our local grocer looking for foods that would fit into this new diet. New chips, new sugar-free foods–all of which are more expensive than their sugar-filled counterparts. All of which wouldn’t be necessary if the boy was willing to give an inch…submit, eat the foods on the new diet and avoid the old standbyes.”Mom, the peppers didn’t agree with me” He tried when I returned home. “Bay, you decided long before they met your tongue that you didn’t want to eat the food. Why do you think I left? I know they tasted good. But I’m not going to sit here and have you insult me because you refuse to change.” “I know I have to change, but not with shitty food!” He yelled back, frustrated I wouldn’t let him off the hook. “Bay, insulting me is not going to make your life any easier. We either work together on solving this or our lives are going to suck. Let’s find a good nutritional path together”. I offered as he walked away, slamming his bedroom door in reply.

What a brave new world we’ve entered…

Leave a Reply

