sympathy for the doll…

Standard

A typical evening at my house may reveal two to three (Or more) different personalities, existing within the same beautiful doll. The playful one, the private one (get out of her way) only to be surprised then by the loving (what the heck is going on you’re being too nice) one.

Recent examples are as follows… My doll takes a shower every other day, but in the morning “freshens” up before school. I asked her the other night if she were going to take a shower before bed and she replied, “Later, yes,” and then looked back at me acted offended and said, “Why? Jeez, mom way to give a girl a complex!” Staring back at her I replied with a simple mean mommy stock answer, “You’re welcome,” before adding, “Well the greasy hair is a giveaway…” and then went back to what I was doing. She, in turn, began whipping her greasy red hair in my direction saying, “Oh sorry my greasy hair is offensive to you. Oops! I didn’t mean to get any of that grease on you…” Laughing while she whipped away.

Another time I noted an unhappy grimace crossing her face while staring in my direction. When I asked, “What’s up with you?” She replied, “What do you mean?” “What’s with the frown doll, you gotta problem with something?” I asked genuinely concerned. Her facial expression changed from a grimace to a twisted sneer and replied angrily, “What’s your problem!” “Doll, you’re the one giving me the sneer…” I replied. “Jeez, Mom, not everything is about you. You always think I’m picking on you and I’m not. Get over yourself!!”

In other words, mind your own business, mom.

Duly noted, but I can’t. Sorry for your luck!

And then out of nowhere, my nice little girl comes around the corner and offers to give me a hug with pats (a hark back to when she was a newborn baby) simply because she’s noticed I’m having a difficult day or moment.

What in the world is going on???

Oh yeah, next month she’ll be fourteen…

Duh!

Sigh…

Leave a Reply

