an early Irish blessing…

Standard

Now, I realize I’m a day early celebrating me Irish heritage but, if you’re a long-term reader of this blog, then you might recall I use to spend time with someone I referred to as Mrs. P; a couple of days a week. Sadly, I learned yesterday she passed away at the ripe young age of 96. As sad as I feel for her family, I know she’s happy to be reunited with her love, Alfred as well as her parents Tony and Bridget Lynn, among many, many others. Mrs. P used to regale me with stories about growing up the daughter of Irish immigrants in Syracuse, New York, during the depression up until she met a handsome army officer during the war. A short time later, they married and moved away to begin her new life.

The first time I met Mrs. P, she took one look at me and said, “Well, you’ve got red hair and an Irish Maiden name… You’re hired!” A memory that today, can’t help but put a smile on my face. I think my favorite story of hers concerns the time her parents were given an opportunity to send one child to “fat” camp. “Were you overweight?” I asked. “No, just the opposite. I was sent there to fatten up,” She explained and together we laughed at the absurdity in regards to today’s standards. I had the privilege of spending nearly two years listening to her stories and will always be honored that my red hair and Irish heritage didn’t let her down. Blessings and prayers to her family during this difficult time.

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind always be at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
and rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

 

Rest in Heaven, Mary!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

