t-shirt happiness

Standard

Yesterday when I arrived home, I found a t-shirt folded on the kitchen table. Unfolding the shirt, I found the doll had received the class t-shirt we ordered the month before. Holding the t-shirt up and examining it for a moment, I got a little choked up. Here is concrete proof, my doll’s elementary/junior high school experience is coming to an end. My little girl is growing up… sigh.

I walked with the shirt into the living room continuing to hold it up for the doll to see. “Yeah, our school shirts arrived and since tomorrow is a jeans day, we’re allowed to wear it to school,” the doll offered. Frowning, I said, “Doll, time is going to fly from here on and before you know it, you’ll be done with school…” Smiling back at me, she replied, “I know, I can hardly wait!” “What?” I said, flinging the shirt at her. “Mom, I’m so ready for this school year to be over…” She replied. “But doll,” I began, “Don’t you want to savor these last few months?” I asked even though I knew what her answer would be. “Mom, I’m sure I’ll miss my friends who are attending different schools, but I’m looking forward to high school. I’m ready to be done.”

“I know, but let’s not rush these last two months, please?” I said and she giggled, “Sorry mom, graduation can’t get here fast enough”.

Sigh.

 

 

Leave a Reply

