Good Friday…

Standard

  As is the ritual in our parish school, the junior high students perform the “Passion” in the church for parishioners and family members on Good Friday evening.  The doll, like last year, was cast as an apostle and performed wonderfully, as did the rest of her classmates. Afterwards, she and I hung around and helped decorate the church for the Easter season to be held over the next fifty days.  

 When we retuned home she asked if I were pleased. “Wha? Of course I was pleased,” I replied. “Well after the children’s performance on Thursday, you told me my face was too expressive,” she explained. “No, I said your eyes wandered, betraying your position on things,” I clarified. “Mom!” “Doll, you and everyone else involved were perfect!” I tried to impress. “If you don’t believe me, go ask your father…” I proposed. Glancing in his direction she replied, “Nah he’s always proud of me, regardless…” She said before producing a wide evil grin in my direction and then turned and began to walk out of the room.

Looking around the room with my hands up in exasperation I said, “What are you implying?” But of course my question fell upon deaf ears as she cackled in delight walking into her bedroom. Looking over at me from the couch my hubby opened his mouth to speak but I cut him off, “Oh you, Shush!” Which brought a smile and some chuckles from him as well. 

Leave a Reply

