everything always…

Standard

I’m sure you’ve all experienced the same phenomenon when everything always happens on the same day. Why does the universe do this to us? I mean really, what is the point of this exercise? To see if we can cover the spread or to find out if we’re losers at the gate?

This upcoming Saturday, April 30, the doll makes her Confirmation, which, if you’re unaware, is the rite at which a baptized person, especially one baptized as an infant, affirms Christian belief and is admitted as a full member of the church. Confirmation means accepting responsibility for your faith and destiny. Afterward, we plan on taking her and some invited guests out to lunch to her favorite restaurant to celebrate. In addition to the doll’s big day,  April 30th is also the boy’s prom and while the time between both events is several hours apart, I’m a little concerned getting the boy ready for his “date” with Alexa will cover more hours than the time we’ll be allowed.

In addition to both these two very big events, there is a job fair for 16-21-year-old boys and girls being held in our town’s convention center from 10 am until 2 pm, which could offer a great chance for my boy to find a job this summer. But tell me, just how am I supposed to get him to the event? “Mom, I had to sit through his Confirmation, he should have to come to mine…” The doll argued the other day. “Baby, that’s not why he should be in attendance. But, I hear what you’re saying”.

The boy meanwhile almost jumped with glee upon hearing about the job fair. “Mom, I’ll just turn on my charm…” He said. “Bay, first of all, you turned on your charm at the zoo and we haven’t heard back from them. Secondly, I’m not sure if we can even get you to the job fair to begin with. Your dad is working, everyone else is invited to the ceremony and since you do not have a driver’s license or common sense for that matter… Besides, this shouldn’t be your excuse for not attending her confirmation,” I added. “Mom, I’ve already sat through one of those, why must I sit through another?”

“Because she’s your sister and you love her…” I replied.

“Hmm, depends on the day…” He offered.  “Well, that day you’re going to really love her….”

“Grrr…” he noted.

 

 

Leave a Reply

