don’t drink the water…

Standard

“Mom, so I had a weird dream last night…” The boy began. I smiled because a day earlier, his sister had started a conversation with me using the very same line. “You didn’t happen to be pregnant with twins were you?” Before he could retort back with an odd “No”, his sister, from the other room yelled, “Shuttttttttttttttt upppppppppppp”. Turning toward his sister he said, “I’m not talking to you…” I continued smiling through their interchange as she remarked, “And I wasn’t talking to you!”

Closing the door with his foot, he turned his attention back to me and said, “Well anyway, I dreamt that we were driving through the mountains somewhere and I was coerced into eating this rabbit made of marijuana and as one might surmise I became high. Then the rest of the dream was spent with me trying to pretend I wasn’t high so you wouldn’t notice”. “That’s an odd dream there buddy bay…” I replied. “Yeah, I’m not sure where that one came from…” he mused. “Did you eat anything odd before bed?’ I asked. “Not that I recall other than a glass of water…” he replied. “So, tell me, what’s it like to be high in a dream?” I asked. Thinking for a moment he replied, “I don’t know…it was odd though….”

*****

In the doll’s dream the day before, she dreamt she was pregnant with twins and somehow lost one of the babies in childbirth. What was most remarkable about the dream to her, was upon the death of the child, I didn’t freak out or yell or complain that she was too young to be having babies and blame her for the babies death. Instead she was surprised how loving and caring I was to her and the surviving baby and how bad I felt at the loss of the other’s life. “Yeah mom, you were completely the opposite how I thought you would react…” She said.

Not sure how to respond, I simply acknowledged what she was telling me, before adding, “You’re a smart girl who, I believe knows how to take care of herself. However, you would be the one who has to deal with the consequences of your decisions. I think you realized this in your dream… my place is to love and teach you to be a good human being, but ultimately you’re responsible for you. In addition, I don’t think there’s anything you could do, that would end my love for you…and I think you know this too. She looked back at me and nodded, before adding, “It sure was an odd dream…”

*****

Leave a Reply

