Relief from political distress, day 12…

Standard

Sorry, a little ranting on my part today…

A couple of weeks or maybe a month back, I wrote a blog in my Mean Mommy Memoirs about how my daughter was shocked I not only knew more words than she did, but that I might even be more informed on serious subjects, than she was. Why? Because, unlike her, I apparently don’t read books. What she failed to take into consideration however, is I read a lot of online material, i.e., blogs, newspapers, zines, etc, from many different sources, across the political realm and from other countries as well. This way, when I make a decision about something, I’ve put a lot of critical thinking behind the decision.

Apparently, many of my “friends” on social media believe much like my doll, that I’m an ignorant, uninformed fool. Every day my timeline is filled with wiki-leaks latest find or Trumps latest quips. Over the weekend I was inundated with videos of religious leaders making the case for one particular candidate adding, if you don’t vote their way, you should consider this a punishable offense against the church and God.

This election season has been so polarizing and ugly. As a nation we are stuck between a rock and a hard place with no clear path to follow. One candidate promises to make us great again, one promises to work together to find solutions. Both offer hope, but I doubt either one will deliver. I often find myself praying, “God help us…” but after the weekend of being admonished for considering a vote for a candidate other than whom my church endorses, I’m not sure this is the best use of my prayers anymore.

*******

Now, back to regularly scheduled programming…

Since this election seems to have gone to the birds, let’s have some looks at some beautiful birds shall we… (no offense meant to birds ;))

Common Raven, Yellowstone NP, 2016

Common Raven, Yellowstone NP, 2016

St. Maartin, Virgin Islands

I think  this is a yellow -crowned night heron, St. Maartin, Virgin Islands 2013

White crowned sparrow, Big Sky, Montana, 2016

White crowned sparrow, Big Sky, Montana, 2016

Pair of Sandhill Cranes, Yellowstone NP, Wyoming, 2016

Pair of Sandhill Cranes, Yellowstone NP, Wyoming, 2016

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

