Sleeper…

Standard

Last Friday, both kids overslept. The boy especially unhappy with our late arrival time to school, made his feelings known, “Why didn’t we get here earlier?” He complained.  “Sorry bay, but you’re old enough to be responsible for getting yourself up; ready for school without a parent nagging you…” I said. “Mom, I woke up fine…” he began, “I just didn’t sleep well, that’s all,” He argued.

As we drove along I began to wonder if his protestations didn’t represent more? “What time did you go to bed last night?” I asked. “I don’t remember…” He replied.

The night before, for some reason, I was exhausted and fell asleep around 8:30 pm believing I would wake up around ten, before going back to bed around midnight. Except instead of a quick two hour nap,  I slept until 3:30 am. By the time school rolled around, I’d been up several hours doing chores and working out, before waking up the kids.

“What time did you go to bed last night?” I asked. “I don’t remember…” He replied. “Bay, on average, I tell you when to go to bed, but since I was already asleep, I left that chore to yourself. Considering you’re going away to school next year, learning how to manage your time and take responsibility for your actions, you should have put yourself to bed at a reasonable hour, rather than play video games all night,” I lectured. “Mom, why do you always assume the worst for me? I didn’t play video games all night. The doll reminded me it was bedtime around eleven,” He explained. “Okay, how soon after that did you go to sleep?” I countered. “Sometime after that…” He said, smiled and then said, “Oh look, we’re at school, gotta go, bye mom,” Opened the door and then exited the vehicle.

His sister still sitting in the car threw her two cents into the mix saying, “He probably went to sleep around 2…like me” which made me shake my head. I wasn’t sure whether I should be mad at the both of them for staying up so late on a school night or be happy that both kids cover for one another. In the end I only replied, “Well, you reap what you sew…” before wishing the doll a good day and heading back toward home.

 

Leave a Reply

