living in a barn…

Standard

Over the weekend, I determined my children live in the house, much like an animal would live in a barn. They don’t take any responsibility in the upkeep, instead just lounge around from room to room, failing to clean up after themselves. Since school starts back up, tomorrow, I decided to do something about their general laziness and hopefully get a cleaner house ahead of them complaining they have too much homework to do household chores.

Before I left for work this morning, I left a note, in three different places, explaining to the kids the chores I expected them to complete today. Considering I was awaken by them at 2:00 am this morning, I knew they might not be awake when I returned for lunch; but hoped for the best. When I arrived home at noon, the boy met me at the door saying, “I’m waiting for the doll to wake up, before starting on the chore list.” “Why?” I asked. “Because then we can split the jobs up evenly,” He replied. Looking back at him I asked, “Why do you want to let the doll set the agenda for which chores you do? If I were you, I’d pick the ones you want to do now, and leave her the rest.” I said, hoping this would push him to begin. Taking another look at the chore list posted in the kitchen, he said, “Nah, I’ll wait for her…”

SMH and here, I thought he was smart…

*****

Leave a Reply

