Shipping….

Standard

A few years ago, my daughter delighted in telling me how she and her friends were “shipping” characters from the television show, Once Upon a Time. Having never taken the time to watch the show myself, I had little care nor clue about what she was describing. Since then, she and her friends “ship” everything, real or imagined, when it comes to the possibility of a couple.

For those unaware what “ship” means, here’s a quick mostly paraphrased definition from Wikipedia, “Originally derived from the word relationSHIP,  it’s the desire by fans for two or more people, either real-life people or fictional characters (in film, literature, television etc.) to be in a relationship, romantic or otherwise”. So, for example, if I took the names of the dogs we’ve previously owned (Sweet Pea/Dixie) and smashed them together, their “Ship” name would become “Sweet Dixie” which, to me is remarkably funny, because Dixie was never one you would think of as being sweet; but I digress.

Anyways, back to the story at hand…

My doll and her friends “ship” anyone they perceive to be in a relationship–or hope to be; which until recently was fine. That is, until during a recent group chat, her friends began “shipping” my doll and the boy she’s had a crush on since the first day of 9th grade (As a reminder, the doll is currently enrolled in the 10th grade). “What are they doing to me?” She asked, embarrassed-yet seemingly pleased at the same time. “Great, now they are voting between two really dumb “ship” names for us…” She added, holding her phone out for me to see, before quickly retrieving to reply back for them to “stop”, but in that certain way that also seems to encourage them, to continue.

So, what are the two names? At the risk of losing my daughter’s confidence, I cannot say. However I can offer some similarly shipped names… “Jolly” and or “DoJo”. To be honest, the boy never let me in on any information about girls he may have liked, other than his friend Alexa, who was just a dear friend to him. So this is all new territory for me…one I’m loving too. And as an added bonus, as her mean mommy–I too am equally excited and am looking forward to using those shipped names to my advantage in the not so distant future.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

